Rules & Regulations

Rules & Regulations
All participants must follow the rules below
Please arrive on time for reporting. No team is allowed to change its reporting time and start time without the prior approval of HKYHA.
There are two Check Points for Speedy Cookie 20km and three Check Points for Elite Cookie 34km. All team members must report at relevant Check Points.
Teams found to have taken short cuts will be disqualified. Only teams that have reported at requested Check Points and have completed the designated route are eligible for ranking and/or prizes.
All teams must reported at the requested Check Points at or before its closing time in order to be allowed to proceed. HKYHA reserves the right to suspend the right to proceed of any participant whose condition is deemed unfit to continue. Such participant needs to travel to the Finish Point at his/ her own expense.
The trail could get quite crowded, particularly in the early stage of the event. Please give way to teams that are faster.
A team’s finishing time will be recorded according to the time when the last member of the team reports to officials at the Finish Point.
We will not provide any bottled water. Please bring along your reusable water bottle and lunch box when getting prepared at our Water & Food Distribution and Check Points. Please put recyclable wastes into recycling bins and take your litter home.
To change your team member
Participants who wish to amend their personal details or change their team members should fill in the "Change of Member Form" and submit it by mail, email or in person to HKYHA. Please download the form from the NPCW website.
If participants wish to change their members after 15 December 2017, the administrative cost of HK$200 will be charged for each new member.
The fee of changing member is non-refundable. It cannot be regarded as a donation and is not tax-deductible.
Please avoid changing team members in the last month before the event. Changing team members on the event day is not recommended.
Sickness or Injury
Take good care of your health. In case of sickness, please inform your teammates immediately.
Under no circumstances shall any teammate be left unattended. Any member who is injured or suffering from exhaustion must be brought to the nearest Check Point his/her teammates for assistance or dial the emergency number which is printed on the back of the number bib.
If a team member is seriously injured or unable to move, please dial the emergency call immediately (printed on the back of the number bib) to inform the event organisers and specify your location. Teammates must accompany the injured member until the rescue team arrives.
Every team is recommended to take at least two fully charged mobile phones for emergency circumstances. In such cases, please inform us your team number, the location, injury situation and phone number to facilitate our immediate response.
Withdrawal
If a member intends to withdraw from the event, reporting to the nearest Check Point will be necessary. The duty personnel at that Check Point will then record the withdrawal, and confirm the status of the whole team. Remaining team members are not allowed to continue with the event until the withdrawal is reported.
If a member has an urgent need to withdraw from the event, please report to the event organisers as soon as possible, and pass the number bib to the remaining team members for the completion of the drop-out procedure at the next Check Point.
For the safety of all participants, if half of the team have withdrawn, the remaining members will not be allowed to continue until they are joined by another team at a Check Point.
Anyone who withdraws during the event must inform the event organiser. Those who have withdrawn during the event without informing the event organisers shall be considered missing and a search and rescue will be initiated, which may delay the rescue for others in real need.
The event organisers will not provide transport for participants who withdraw during the event. Please note that all Check Points can be accessed by public transport. The event organisers will NOT provide shuttle bus service for participants who withdraw. Participants should only choose to withdraw at places which are accessible by public transport, otherwise please be prepared to walk for a further distance and make sure you have sufficient food and water with you.

Weather Arrangement
Special Arrangements for Inclement Weather
Cancellation

The event will be cancelled if tropical cyclone warning signal no. 3 or above, or red or black rainstorm signal is hoisted by the Hong Kong Observatory at 06:00am on 12 January 2020. The Organizer reserves the right to change the event date and routes or terminate the event in consideration of adverse weather conditions and/or other unpredictable factors. No refund of registration fee and donations will be made in any circumstances.

Safety Measures
Special arrangements may have to be made during the event due to unpredictable occurrences. In this case, the event organisers will inform the team leaders of these arrangements by phone calls and announcement onsite.
Heat Exhaustion
Heat exhaustion is the body's response to the excessive loss of water and salt contained in sweat. The victim's temperature is usually normal, and sweating is still intact. If heat exhaustion is untreated, it may progress to heat stroke. Those most prone to heat exhaustion are elderly people, people with high blood pressure and people exercising in a hot environment.
Safety guidelines
Drink plenty of water and take rests during the hike. Try to avoid staying under the sun for too long.
Emergency measures
Bring the sufferer to the shade. The sufferer should drink plenty of water, with sodium or minerals preferred. Place wet towel on the sufferer for cooling. Seek medical attention if symptoms worsen or last longer than 1 hour.
Hill fires
Hill fires advance rapidly upward and windward on steep grassy slopes in dry weather. Never underestimate their devastating power. Hill fires are difficult to detect in sunlight. Pay attention to flying ash or the smell of burning. If a hill fire is spotted, leave the place immediately.
Safety guidelines
Except on designated barbecue sites or campsites, never light a fire within country parks. Smokers should refrain from smoking; all cigarette stubs or matches should be completely extinguished before discarding them in litter bins. It is difficult to assess the speed of which a hill fire spreads. Never risk continuing your journey if there is a fire nearby or you may get trapped in the fire.
Emergency measures
Stay calm and never attempt to put out a hill fire by yourself. Go to a place with less vegetation, but avoid moving in the direction of the prevailing wind. In case the fire is close, you should cover the exposed skin with wet clothing and escape to the burnt ground to minimize the chance of getting injured.
Snakebite
Common venomous snakes in Hong Kong include banded krait, banded krait, king cobra, cobra and bamboo pit viper. They are more active in spring, summer and autumn.
Safety guidelines
Wear long trousers and ankle boots. Use only the maintained paths. Don't walk into overgrown area or mixed forest.
Emergency measures
Should a snake be found, keep calm and still. It may be frightened and please let it leave first. Don't cut, suck or wash the wound. The victim should lie down, avoid consuming alcoholic drinks, elevating the wound or making unnecessary movement. Comfort the victim and take him/her to the hospital immediately. If possible, identify the type, colour and band of the venomous snake. If it is caught, take it to the hospital for further medical use.
International distress signals
Send out six long signals within one minute; pause for one minute and repeat the same. Do not stop until the rescue team comes (continue the signals even during the rescue team has spotted you from a long distance, so that your exact position can be identified).
Ways of sending signals
Blow a whistle
Reflect light with a mirror or metal sheet
Wave colourful or shiny clothes to attract attention

活動規則

所有參加者必須遵守下列各項守則
活動當日,隊伍必須按指定時間齊集於起點,一同出發。未經香港青年旅舍協會同意,不得擅自更改出發時間。
精英薑餅人34公里和光速20公里分別設置三個和兩個檢查站,所有競賽組參加隊伍必須踏過設於起點線、檢查站及終點線之計時感應地蓆。
香港青年旅舍協會嚴禁參加者使用捷徑,所有參加者必須按指定路線走畢全程,方可獲得排名及競逐各組別之獎項。
所有隊伍必須於檢查站關閉前到達檢查站,方可繼續參與活動。假如隊伍到達檢查站時,經已沒有充足時間於下一個檢查站關閉前到達該站,香港青年旅舍協會有權為該隊伍登記為「退出」,隊伍須自費乘搭交通工具返回終點。
活動進行期間,部份路徑會相當擁擠,特別是前段路徑。為免影響他人,請讓路予步速較快者。
各隊伍完成全程的時間,將以隊中最後一名成員抵達終點登記的時間為準。
大會將不會提供支裝水,請攜帶可重複使用的盛器及水樽,於水及食物派發處和各檢查站,領取食物和飲用水,將可循環再造的廢物分類放入回收垃圾箱及將攜來的垃圾帶走。
更換隊員須知
參加者如要求更改個人或隊員資料,請填妥「更換隊員表格」,以電郵或親身遞交至香港青年旅舍協會。參加者可於活動網頁下載表格。
如須於2019 年11月24日後更換隊員,參加者須繳付每名新隊員港幣200元之手續費。
所有更換隊員手續費一經繳交恕不退還。手續費並非捐款,不可用作申請稅項寬減。
各隊伍應盡量避免於前一個月更換隊員,香港青年旅舍協會亦不建議參加者在出發前臨時更換隊員。
活動期間不適或受傷
請時刻留意自己的身體狀況,必須量力而為。如有不適,請即告知同行隊友,切勿勉強行事。
在任何情況下,絕對不能撇下隊友不顧。遇有隊員受傷或體力不支,同行隊友必須將傷者送往最近的檢查站求助或通知大會求助。
如受傷隊員傷勢嚴重或不能走動,應立即通知大會,說明所在位置,並陪伴傷者至救援人員到達為止。
為安全起見,建議每支參加隊伍隨身攜帶至少兩部電量充足的手提電話供求救時使用。求救時,請清楚說明隊伍編號、位置、受傷情況及聯絡電話,以確保大會救援人員可盡快到達現場作出救援。
中途退出
如個別隊員有意中途退出,必須先到最近的檢查站辦理退出手續。工作人員會記錄退出隊員及其所屬隊伍的資料。在該隊員申請退出前,其餘隊員不得繼續賽事。
如個別隊員急需即時退出,則須盡快通知大會,並緊記將號碼布交給隊友,以便在下一個檢查站代其辦理退出手續。
若隊中有一半成員中途退出,為安全起見,餘下隊員必須與在下一個檢查站其他隊伍同行,方可繼續前進。
若參加者擅自退出而未有知會大會,可能會導致大量浪費搜救人力及物資進行搜索,或會令其他有需要人士延誤救援,故請有意中途退出的參加者務必致電大會。
中途退出的參加者,必須自行安排交通工具。請注意各檢查站均有公共交通工具可達,大會不會提供運輸工具予中途退出之參加者,故參加者必須預留體力步行至可乘公共交通工具可達的地點。

天氣安排
惡劣天氣安排

取消比賽

若比賽當天(2020年1月12日)早上6時正,香港天文台已經發出3號或以上熱帶氣旋警告信號、紅色或黑色暴雨警告信號,活動將會取消。如受到惡劣天氣或其他不可預計之因素影響,引致活動無法如期在原定路線進行,大會有權更改活動日期及相關路線,或中止活動。所有報名費及籌款將不獲退還。

安全指引
活動期間,如受到不可預計之因素影響,以致大會須臨時作出任何特別安排,有關消息將透過電話通知所有參加者或隊伍隊長及在活動現場發出廣播。
熱衰竭
熱衰竭是身體因過度流汗而喪失水份及鹽份而有的反應,病者的體溫與流汗機能通常都保持正常。但如未能及時治療,會進而變為中暑。通常患者為老年人、高血壓患者及在酷熱下運動的人士。
安全指引
行程中要多喝水,且要作適量休息;避免長時間讓陽光直接照射。
應變措施
讓患者留在陰涼通風的地方休息,補給水分,最好是含鹽的飲料,或者礦泉水。用冷毛巾為患者抹身,作降溫處理。如病徵惡化或持續多於一小時,應立即尋求醫療協助。
山火
在乾燥的天氣,山火於較斜的草坡上順風向上蔓延速度極快,遠足人士絕不可輕視山火的威力。在發生山火時,行山人士務請留意呼籲及警告,依據現場工作人員指示,切勿進入可能受山火影響的範圍。
安全指引
小心火種,切勿在非指定的燒烤地點或露營地點生火煮食。吸煙人士應避免吸煙,煙蒂和火柴必須完全弄熄才可拋棄於垃圾箱內。緊記山火蔓延速度極難估計,如發現前路山下遠處有山火,也不應冒險嘗試繼續行程,以免為山火所困。
應變措施
遇到山火時應保持鎮靜,切勿驚慌。切勿試圖撲滅山火,應選擇較易逃走及少植物的小徑走避;避免走山火蔓延的同一方向,應以衣物包掩外露皮膚,逃進已焚燒過的地方;切勿往山上走,因會消耗體力。切勿走進矮小密林及草叢,山火在這些地方可能會蔓延得很快而且熱力也較高。
蛇咬
香港現時常見的毒蛇有金腳帶、銀腳帶、過山烏、眼鏡蛇、青竹蛇等等,牠們通常會在春、夏和秋季出沒。差不多所有的蛇都非常害羞怕人,只要給予機會,牠們多會逃走。
安全指引
遠足人士應穿著長褲和有護足踝的靴。沿有經常維修的小徑行走,切勿自行闖路,走草叢和雜樹林。
應變措施
遇蛇時,保持鎮定不動,讓受驚的蛇盡快逃走。如被蛇咬後,不要割開傷口的皮膚吸吮或洗滌。讓傷者躺下,停止傷處活動,但不要抬高傷處。不可喝酒,亦不應作不必要的活動。應安慰傷者。盡快到醫院求治。如有可能的話,辨別毒蛇的種類,顏色和斑紋,如咬人的蛇已被捕捉,應一併送往醫院,以便醫護人員辨認,使用適合的血清。
國際求救訊號
在一分鐘內,連續發出6次長訊號,停頓一分鐘後,重複同樣訊號,不要中斷直至有救援人員到達為止。(即使救援人員已從遠處發現,也要繼續發出訊號,讓救援人員知道求救者正確位置)
發出訊號的方法
吹哨子
用鏡或金屬片發出閃光
揮動顏色鮮艷明亮的衣物